John Crowe 1565 of Great Yarmouth, Norfolk, merchant

John Crowe is father of William Crowe (Will 1614). He leaves property in the Yarmouth ‘Rows’ and fishing equipment to his wife and son. The Will includes many unusual terms – you may need the Glossary.

Summary

Will Date:  2 August 1564
Executor:  Son William Crowe
Supervisor:Son-in-law Thomas Smythe
Witnesses: William Burywey script., Richard Fletcher Curate, Nicholas Ken, John Parfaye
Beneficiaries: Wife Kirchian
Son William Crowe
Son-in-law Thomas Smyth
Mr Fen
Christian Rome, Joan Wilson
Owners/occupiersJohn Boyce, Alice Barnard
John Cannell
Mr Richeman
Places: Great Yarmouth:  The church, Lord’s Quay, Market Lane,
                               The Row near the place late John Cannell’s,       
Mr Parfaye’s Rowe butting upon John Wakeman and John Palmer.
Broddish [Brundish?] Suffolk.
Probate:14 April 1565

The Will

In the name of god amen  The seconde Daye of Auguste in the yere of oure lord god a thowsande five hundred threscore and foure And in the sixte yere of the Raigne of our Soveraine Lady Elizabethe by the grace of god quene of England Fraunce and Ireland Defendoure of the faith etc I Jhon Crowe of greate Yearmouthe in the Countie if Norfolk marchaunte and of the dioces of Norwiche do ordaine and make this my present testament conteininge in yt my laste Will. First and principally I comende my sprite in to the handes of my Creator Redemer and savioure Jesus Christ by whose precious blode sheddinge passion and death my only fayth is to be saved, my body I comytt to the yearth to be buried in Christiane buriall where it shall please gode to Call me to his mercye in full hope of Resurrection into lyfe everlastinge throughe the Glorious Resurrection of my only Lorde and saviour Jesus Christ.

Item I give unto the ij mynisters of the Churche of greate Yearmothe at my buriall besides their dwtie at my buryall iij s iiij d for their good diligence in godes sarvice. Also I give towardes the Reperacions of Yearmothe Church v s.

Item I give to every god childe that I have xij d a pece.

Item I give and bequethe to William Crowe my sonne my howse that John Boyce dwelleth in which was sumetyme Alice Barnardes with the two Tennanntries to the same adioyning with all and singuler their appurtenances to the same in any wyse belonginge to enyoye the same to him and to his heires executors and Assignes for ever.

Also I give unto my saide sonne William my howse in the rowe that marchis upon the place late John Cannelles called a Fishe howse and tacle howse with all thappurtenaunces to the same belonginge to enioye the same to him and to his heires Executors and assignes for ever.

Item I give unto the saide William my sonne my two fishers the one called the blythe and the other named the William with all their tacle to theim in any wise belonginge.

Also I give him threscore of heringes nettes called xij skores with xiiij Ropes to the same belonging. Also I give him all my plancks in my greate yarde that I boughte of master Richeman and also xl planckes laineg at broddishe in Suffolk

Item I give to my saide sonne William a silver and gilte salte made up with tirrettes with the cover a pinte pott of silver and gilt ij tasters of silver on greater then the other a goblet of silver and two silver saltes with coveringes a greate silver cuppe caled a standinge maser with a silver fote ij dosen silver sponnes one spone of theim with a knoppe. Item I give to the saide William my sonne v federbeddes of good beddes with their bolstars x pillowes with vij beeres to theim iiij coveringes ij carpettes one newe and one olde xv paire of good shettes my bedstid in the parlour with the curtines and tester ij bedstides in the halle chamber and my newe Presse.

Item I give him my Counter table hole as yt standeth in the parloure.
Also I give him iij table clothes of diaper and xij diaper napkins and a diaper Towell and iij plaine table clothes.
Item I give him my two Cobberdes my table of Eshe in the hall with the forme graven.
Item I give him my two Pitche Kettylles.
Item I give him my two greate Cobbarns ij lache pannes and a chafer.
Item I give unto him foure gownes so that I will him to give one of them to Thomas Smyth his brother-in-lawe. 

Also I give to the same William my sonne a longe Table in the ketchine ij wasshinge fattes vi Cushins my Christe by the greate bed side a greate Christe in the highe Chambre a Shipp chyste and my lytle Cofer as yt standethe and a sege chaier a paire of andernes and a other highe Andyarne ij hangelles in the chimney a paire of tonges a hoke to hange a potte in the fire with a litle cofre by the dore ij Speetes a greater and a lesser a greate laver iiij drinkinge pottes a quarte potte and a greate pott a paire of skolls and my best beame that hange on the chamber and CC waighte of leade and halfe a stone in smalle waightes a morter and a pestell a paire of stoppes a hachett an handesawe a hamer a longe wymble and a percer.

Also I give him ij bowes ij billes ij Casses for arrowes with shaftes in them
Also I give him a bottome tree and a steam and a sterneposte lyinge by the lordes keye.

Item I give and bequethe unto Kyrchian my wyffe my place that I dwell in with my ij greate yeardes with all and singular thappurtenaunces to the same belonginge and all thinges in the same beinge Roote faste and nayle faste with my two bruinge leades and all other my bruinge vessells to enioye the same to her and to her heires executors and assignes for ever.

Also I give her my greate fisshe howse in master parfayes Rowe buttinge upon John Wakeman and John Pallmer duringe the terme of her naturall life, Condicionally that she do release her durye in my howse late Alice Barnardes with his tennantris and also make hir release in my fisshe howse with his appurtenaunces beinge lienge by John Cannells next adionynge to his howse towardes the Este with the yearde and well longinge to the same cominge owt with a gate in the market lane and yf she refuse so to do I will she not have the saide fisshe house but that yt shall remaine unto my saide sonne William for ever any thinge herin to the contrarie notwithstandinge. And if she do release hir dury than I give yt her for terme of her lyfe and affter warde to remaine unto my said sonne William and to his heires executours and assignes forever.

Item I give my said Wiffe viij heringe nettes called nine skores Ready to the sea with two ropes to the same belonginge my Cubberd in the hall and my ioyned table.

Also I give her five poundes of lawfull englishe money my skarlett gowne my beste coverlett of tappystarie worke and foure other coverlettes ij paire of blankettes xv paire of shetes iij fetherbeddes with the transoms and two bedstedes in the fore chambre which was hers before

Item I give her vj plaine table clothes a dosen diaper napkins and a dosen plaine a lache panne a chafer a Cawdern of brasse and a Copper kettle a morter and a pestell the Chyste in the hall Chamber onder the Wyndowe and also my settle Chiste in the parlour the bason and ewer in the parlour.

Item I give unto my said wyfe a greate plaine salte of silver and gilte wyth the cover a silver pott and a silver goblett a maser hooped with silver and percell gilte and a dosen silver sponnes

Item I give to my saide wyffe all the wood and coles and also wheate and malte that I leave at my endinge day and my byllettes I will to be parted betwene my sonne William and my saide wiffe Kyrchian.

Item I will that all my brasse pewter and lattin as pottes, pannes kettelles and others platters dishes sawcers and others Candlestickes Basons chafindishes and others be devided every parcell in the selfe equallye and evenly into three partes and alwayes ij partes of every of the same I give and bequethe to my saide sonne William and one parte that is to saye the thirde parte of every of the same I geve and bequeathe unto my saide wyfe Kyrchian.

Item I give unto my saide wyffe Kirchian viij pillowes with vij beeres to theym.

Item I give to master fen my greate golde Ringe.
Item I give to Christian Rome v s and to Joane Wyllson xij s

All my other goodes of what kinde of sorte so ever they be onely excepted specialities and dettes to be to me owinge I will theim to be evenly parted and devyded betwene my saide sonne William and my said wiffe Kyrchian and I ordaine and make myne Executor holy and solye to be my saide sonne William Crowe he to paye my dettes and receyve my dettes and bringe me honnestlye to the yearth and he to fullfill this my present testament and last will.

And I ordaine and make my supervisor or overseer to this my present Testament and last will Thomas Smythe my sonne in lawe he to give my sonne good counsell and to sticke by him ernestly in all his necessitie and nede and I give him for his paines xl s of lawfull moneye of England

And that this is my very true and lawfull Testament and last will I have sette my seale and marke the daye and yere above written. Teste me Willimo Burywey script Teste me Richardo Fletchero Curato istius Parochie  wytes Nyc Ken and John Parfaye

Probate

Probatum fuit hmoi testamentum Coram Magro Waltero Haddon Legum Doctore Curie Prerogative Cant Comissario apud London decimo quarto Die Mensis Aprilis Anno Domini Millimo Quingentesimo Sexagesimo quinto Juramento Willmi Pierson procuratoris Willmi Crowe executoris in hmoi testamento nominat Cui comissa fuit administraco omnium bonorum bene etc Ad sancta Dei Evangelia Jurat

Reference details

Transcribed from the Prerogative Court of Canterbury records. 
The National Archive ref PROB 11/48/110

Transcribed by Rose G.
April 2024

Leave a comment