Richard Barowgh / Barrow 1552 of Downton, Wiltshire, gentleman

Richard Barrow is probably the son of Maurice Barrow (Will 1521) and his wife Dorothy (Will 1531). He leaves his daughter in the custody of his executor rather than her mother. His witnesses include Anthony Barrow (Will 1600), John Gauntlett (Will 1558), John Gauntlett (Will 1559) and William Furseby (Will 1554).

Summary

Will Date:   25 August 1552
Executors: Henry Bruncker of Melksham and Thomas Isham of the Soke by Winchester
Witnesses:Anthony Barough, John Gauntlett, William Furseby, Nicholas Haule, William Caulcy, William Dene, John Gauntlett the younger
People:Wife Maud
Daughter Mary
Friend Henry Bruncker of Melksham
Servant Robert Luke
John Dyer, Thomas Ingram, George Carde, John Bycarton, Mores Bukland,
Thomas Bacon the elder, John Colte, David Clerke, Robert Eline,
Richard More, John Cussyn, Thomas Cussyn, Walter Cowarde,
Olyver Newman, John Bacon, Thomas Mylles, William Ingram,
Mores Iryshe, Fremond Irishe,
Anne Whyte, Alice Cheverton, Anne Howse, Margery Welshe
Places:  Downton, the Mill and Carter Bridge
Farms of Berford and Bremer
Probate:29 October 1552

The Will

In the name of god Amen  The xxv daye of Auguste in the yere of our Lorde god a Thousand fyve hundreth fyftie and two And the vj th yere of the Reigne of our soveraigne lord Edwarde the Sixte by the grace of god Kinge of Englande Fraunce and Irelande Defender of the faythe and in earthe of the churche of England and also of Irelande supreme head I Richard Barowgh of Downton in the Countie of Wiltes gentilman being sicke in bodye notwithstonding hole of mynde and of parfytt memory Callinge to my Remembraunce that there ys no erthely thinge in the unstable world so certeyn as death and nothinge so uncertayne as the tyme and owre when we shalbe called from this present and transitory lyfe I do thefore Renounce revoke and utterly disanull all willes and testamentes heretofore by me made spoken wrytten or declared And I do ordeyne and make thys to be my very testament and Last wyll in maner and forme as hereafter folowithe First and principally I moste humble comende and bequeathe my soule to Almightie  god creator and Redemer therof and my body to be entered and buryed within my parish churche of Dounton afore saide

Item I give and bequeathe unto the Cathedrall churche of Sarum my mother church xij d.
Item I give and bequeathe to the vicar of my saide parishe Church of Downton that shalbe in reale possession thereof at the daye of my deathe vj s viij d.
Item I give and bequeathe to the reparacons of my said parishe churche of Dounton fourtie shillinges

Item I give and bequeathe to the poore householders and to the poore people of my said parishe of Dounton three poundes to be distributed amongest theym at the daye of my buryall by myn Executours Also I give and bequeathe to the poore householders and the poore people of my saide parishe of Dounton vj li xiij s iiij d to be distributed amonges them quarterly by myne Executours at the next foure usuall quarters of the yeare as they shall chance and folowe next after my deathe that ys to saye at Christmas Easter Mydsomer and Mychelmas to be devyded in egall porcions during one hole yere next after my deathe.

Item I give and bequeathe to the makinge of the high waye betwixt the Myll and Carter bridge fourtie shillinges.

Item I give and bequeathe to every godchild that I have iij s iiij d apece.

Item I give and bequeathe to Robert Luke my servante fourtie shillinges.

Item I give and bequeathe unto John Dyer fourtie shillinges.
Item I give and bequeathe to Thomas Ingram twentie shillinges.
Item I give and bequeathe to George Carde twentie shillinges.
Item I give and bequeathe to John Bycarton twentie shillinges.
Item I give and bequeathe to Mores Bukland xx s
Item I give and bequeathe to Thomas Bacon thelder xx s.
Item I give and bequeath to John Colte vj s viij d.
Item I give and bequeathe to Daved Clerke vj s viij d
Item I give and bequeath to Robert Eline vj s viij d.
Item I give and bequeath to Richard More xx s.
Item I give and bequeathe to John Cussyn vj s viij d.
Item I give and bequeathe to Thomas Cussyn vj s viij d.
Item I give and bequeathe to Walter Cowarde tenne shillinges.
Item I give and bequeathe to Olyver Newman Tenne shillinges.
Item I give and bequeathe to John Bacon tenne shillinges.
Item I give and bequeathe to Thomas Mylles tenne shillinges.
Item I give and bequeathe to William Ingram twentie shillinges.

Item I give and bequeathe to Mawde my wife all my Stok of Cattell nowe going upon my ferme of berforde that is to saye a bull and Tenne Kene vij wenelynges calves three hundred four score and xiij wethers A hundreth and three score Ewes A hundreth threscore and eight Lambes and the occupying of the sayd ferme with all the profyttes and comodities belonging to the same during her naturall lyfe paying yerely the lordes rente at suche daies and feastes as is expressed in the Indenturs of the same.

Also I give and bequeathe to the said Mawde my wife all my Stok of Cattell nowe going upon my ferme of Bremer That is to saye A bull and xxx kene and also thoccupying of the saide ferme with all the profyttes and comodities belonging to the same during her naturall life paying the Lordes Rent at suche Daies and feastes as is expressed in the Indenture of the same.

Item I give and bequeathe to the saide Mawde my wife the thirde parte of my houshold stuf as shalbe thought meate and convenyent by myne Executours Also I give and bequeath to the saide Mawde my wife one half dosen of silver spones with thapostells gilt at thende and a dosen of sylver spones with rounde knoppes gilt and a goblet all gilt with a cover an ale pott of sylver all gilt with a cover A square salte gilte of sylver withoute a cover.

Item I give and bequeathe to Mary my doughter fyve hundreth markes to be made and taken of my plate goodes and Cattall And also I give and bequeathe to the saide Mary my doughter the lease of my fermes of berforde and bremer and she to enyoie the same ymmediatly after the deathe of Mawde her mother And the saide leases to remayne in the Custodye of myne Executours

Also I will that Mary my doughter after my decease Remayne and be in the custodie of my frende Henry Bruncker untill the daye of her mariage And he to have and take reasonable Allowaunce for her Charges of my goodes and Cattalles during all suche tyme as she shalbe soo with hym trusting that she wilbe ordered and rulled as he shall thinke good.

Item I give and bequeathe to Mores Iryshe fyve poundes in full Recompence of his holde that Bysshup had of me
Item I give and bequeathe to fremond Irishe fyve poundes.
Item I give and bequeath to Anne Whyte to her mariage iij li vj s viij d to be payde at the daye of her mariage.
Item I give and bequeathe to [  blank  ] Churche vj s viij d.
Item I give and bequeathe to Alice Cheverton vj s viij d.
Item I give and bequeathe to Anne Howse vj s viij d.
Item I give and bequeathe to Margery Welshe vj s viij d.

The Residue of all my goodes moveable and unmoveable my debtes and legacies truly contentyd and paide I give and bequeathe to Henry Bruncker of Melksham in the Countie of Weles esquyer and to Thomas Isham of the Soke by Wynchester in the Countie of Southehampton gentilman whome I ordeyne constitute and make myne Executours of this my testament and Laste will to dispose the same according to the trust that I have put in them

In witnes wherof I the saide Richard Barowgh have set my seale the daye and yere above wryten in the presens of Anthony Barough gentilman John Gauntlett Willyam Furseby Nicholas Haule gent William Caulcy William Dene and John Gauntlet the yonger

Probate

Probatum fuit testm coram dno Cant Archipo apud London xxix die
Mensis Octobris Anno dni millimo quingentesimo quinquagesimo secumdo Juramento
Thome Isham personaliter pnt et Henrici Bruncker executori in persona Robti Johnson nory pu
procur ateris dci Henrici  Quibus .………………………….
…………………………………

Reference details

Transcribed from the Prerogative Court of Canterbury records. 
The National Archive ref PROB 11/35/353

Transcribed by Rose G.
March 2024

Leave a comment