Dorothy Barrow 1531 of North Charford, Hampshire, widow

Dorothy Barrow is the widow of Maurice Barrow (Will 1521). Her will contains the unusual bequest of swans. All unmarked mute swans belonged to the crown, but land owners could be granted the privilege of owning and marking swans. The birds were marked on their beaks and registers of kept.

Summary

Will Date:10 December 1531
Executors:      Sons Richard and Thomas Abarrow
Overseer: Nephew Sir William Pawlett knight
Witnesses: Maister John Abarrow of Salisbury, Ralph Lane Vicar of Downton,
Sir Thomas Arnolfe, Vincent Inber [Jumper?] of Hale,
William Saunders the elder
People:Son John Abarrow and his wife
Sons Richard and Thomas Abarrow
Daughter Mary
Daughter Elliot
Servant William Saunders
Christian Tophill chamber maid
John Harris, William Higons
Probate:   17 February 1531

The Will

In the name of god amen The x th day of December the yere of our lorde god m vc xxxi And in the xxiij yere of the reign of King Henry the viij th I Dorathie Barow of northe charfford in the Countie of Southt being hole of mynde and parfyte of remembraunce thankes be to allmighty god do make my last will and testament in maner and fourme folowing First I bequethe my soule to almighty god our lady sainte Marye and all the holy company of hevin my bodye to be buryed within the parrishe churche of Downton within the chauncell of the same churche before the ymage of saint laurence there and they to have for the breking of the ground there vj s viij d

Item I do give and bequethe to the parrishe churche of Downton for the reparacons of the same churche xiij s iiij d

Item I do give and bequethe to the high aulter of the same churche a clothe to hang afore the tabulment of white damaske and greane damaske and in the myddle of the same clothe a crucifixe of our lorde And at one ende a pycture of our Ladye And at the other ende a picture of sainte Laurence

Item I do give and bequethe to my sonne John Aborowe all my swannes apon the Ryver so that he do not trouble nor vexe my executours. And he trouble of vexe my executours that than my will is he shalhave no parte of the said Swannes nor other of my unmoveable goodes.
Item I do give and bequethe to the same John Abarowe my sonne a feelde of wheate of xiij akers lying before the place.

Item I do give to my doughter his wife a gowne of silke a bonett of velvit and a payer of silken slevis.

Item I do give and bequeth to my doughter Marye a gowne of silke a bonett of velvit a payer of slevys of silke

Item I will that my chapleyne do sing for my soule and all xpen soules by the space of ij yeres there I am buryed and he to have for his salary and wagys by the yere vj li xiij s iiij d.

Item I do give and bequeth to my servaunt Wyllyam Saunders C sheepe that ys to saye halfe a hundred wethers and halfe a hundred Ewes.
Item do give and bequethe to my said servant Wyllyam Saunders one of my twoo best cartes iij horses or geldinges therto belonging and all their apparell

Item I do give to every man servaunt in my house except sir Thomas Wyllyam Saunders John Harrys and Wyllyam Higons vj s viij s and thear wages truly to be contented and paid.

Item I do give and bequethe to my two mayde servauntes all my lynnen gere that is to say Smockes rayles and kerchers to be equally devided betwene them bothe.
Item I do give and bequethe to Crysteane Tophill my maydon of my chambr a flocke bedd a new payer of blankyttes a new white coverlytt of myne owne making.
Item I do give and bequeth to every of my ij maydens aforesaid vj s viij d in redy mony

Item I will that myne executours deliver to my doughter Eliott a cupp of silver and gylte with my husbandes armes and myn in hym whiche her father gave her.

Item I will that myne executours make a remembraunce in the wall before saint laurence of me to be graven by thadvise of John Abarow my sonne.

Item I will that at my burying there be dealed in money for my soule xx s and at my monythes mynde end other xx s and at the yeres ende xx s to pour people by the discrecion of my executours,

The Residewe of my goodes and cattalles not gyven nor bequethid I do give and bequethe to Richard Abarowe and Thomas Abarowe my twoo sonnes whom I do make and ordeyne myne executours and they to perfourme this my last will and testament and to pay my debtes as shalbe thought most neadefull and necessary for my soule helthe by their discrecions

And I do make myn overseer of this my last will and testament my nephew sir Wyllyam Pawlett Knight to se this my will perfourmed.
Thes bering wyttnes I desire Maister John Aborowe of Salsbury Raafe Lane Vicar of Downton sir Thomas Arnolfe Vyncentt Inber of Hale Wyllyam Saunders thelder

Probate

Probatum fuit suprascriptum testamentum coram Dno apud Lamehith xvij die mensis Febr Anno Dni
millimo quingeno xxxvj executorum in hmoi testamento noiatorum in persona mri Richo Wakins notarii pu …..
………………..
………………..
…………………………

Reference details

Transcribed from the Prerogative Court of Canterbury records. 
The National Archive ref PROB 11/24/180

Transcribed by Rose G.
March 2024

Leave a comment