Edmund Jenner 1641 of Heacham, Norfolk

Edmund Jenner leaves his estate to his wife and mother, with bequests to brothers and sisters. His mother is Jane Sole daughter of William Sole (Will 1620) who outlived both her first husband Robert Jenner and second husband Edmond Cremer (Will 1632).

Summary

Will Date:    21 April 1641
Executor: Wife Mary
Witnesses:  Oliver Calvert clerk, Thomas Cramp, Thomas King.
People:Wife Mary
Mother
Brother John Jenner and his daughters
Niece Jane the daughter of late brother Henry Jenner
Brother-in-law Edmond Banyard
Brother-in-law William Fisher
Sister unnamed and her children
Kinswoman Margarite Scot
John Johnson of Bircham and John Partridge of Heacham
John Rogerson
Probate: 11 June 1641

The Will

In the name of God Amen Aprill the twenty one, 1641 I Edmond Jenner of Hicham in the County of Norfolk, being sicke in body, but of good and perfect memory I praise my god do ordaine and make this my last Will and Testament in manner and forme following First I bequeath my soul into the hands of my heavenly father as a faithfull Creator assuredly trusting thorough the alone merits and mediacon of my Lord and Saviour Jesus Christ to be made Partaken of those inestimable joyes which he[?] hath laid-up for all those that love and feare him: next I commit my Body to the Earth from whence it was first taken, and to be orderly and decently buried in the Parish church of the aforesaid Hicham upon the North side of the said church where my Ancestors have bene formerly Enterr’d, all due and Dutyes to the said church truly discharg’d and paid.

Now concerning my temporall Estate wherewith God hath blest me, I thus dispose of it: First my will and mind is that all my purchas’d and charg’d Free-hold Land, shall be sold to the best advantage for the discharging of my Debts by John Johnson of Bircham and John Partridge of Hicham, my wife satisfying them for their charge and paines herein:

Item my will and mind is and I give unto my Mother fower Milch kine to be set out and appointed at the discretion of the Prizers of my goods also I give unto her a browne Nag and a black Mare: with all the sheep that goe upon my ground, reserving onely the Hogs and those that are my wives: Likewise I give unto her three swine, halfe a dozen Turkyes and halfe a dozen geese if they do thrive and prove well:

Item my will and mind is that my Wife and my Mother shall equally share and divide betwixt them all my Corne as Wheat, Rye, Barley, Oates, Pease, Beanes, and fetelles ^being at equall charge for the ?????? of it^ :

Item my will and mind is that my Wife shall peaceably hold an enjoy her Jointure, during her naturall life and after her decease to John Jenner my Brother, and the Heire-male of his body lawfully begotten and for want of such Issue to his Eldest Daughter, paying to the rest of her Sisters forty-pound a peece:

Item I give unto Jane the daughter of Henry Jenner my late Brother, the summe of twenty pounds to be paid by my Executrix within fower yeares after my decease and to be put out for her best education and bringing up.

Item I do acquit and exonerate Edmond Baniard my Brother in Law of all debts and engagements to me, provided He helpe me in with my Barly crop this yeare, and deliver unto my wife a Ketle and a Lanthorne.

Item I do acquit and discharge William Fisher my Brother in Law of all his engagmts to me.
Item I forgive John Rogerson two Bushels of wheat which He is owing unto me.

Item I give unto my Sisters children that are my God-children ten shillings a peece.
Item I give unto Margarite Scot my Kinswoman and servant one Bullock at the discretion of my Wife:

Item I do appoint and make sole Executrix of this my last Will and Testament Mary my Wife she discharging and paying all my Debts and Legacyes afore mentioned, as my will and mind is, and assured confidence in her:

In witness whereof I have set ?????? my hand and seale the day and yeare above-written
Edmond Jenner

witness here of:  Oliver Calvert  Cl.  Thomas Crampe  Thomas Kinge

Probate

Probatum fuit huimodi Testamentum apud Hitcham coram discreto viro Mro              Calvert Clice virtute  Comissio ei direct. undecimo die mensis Junij Anno dni 1641 et comessa fuit Ado bonorum ac Execut in dco testo noiot in debita iuris forma iurt

Reference details

Transcribed from the Archdeaconry of Norfolk Court record
Held by the Norfolk Records Office Reference ANF original will 1641 no. 45 Item 1641

Image at https://www.familysearch.org/ark:/61903/3:1:3Q9M-CS6K-SSGR-L?i=90&cat=291384
LDS Film # 008003450, image 91

Transcribed by Rose G.
April 2024

Leave a comment