Thomas Rolfe 1599 of Tuttington, Norfolk

Thomas Rolfe is the son of Robert Robert Rolfe of Sporle (Will 1559) and his wife Margaret Crowe, and brother of Edmund Rolfe of Narford (Will 1618) and Henry Rolfe of Kelvedon (Will 1602). He makes provision for his wife, son and daughter.

Summary

Will Date:  26 April 1599
Executors: Son Clement Rolfe
Witnesses: Christopher Knolles, William Neve, Robert Bernye, and William Neve Junior
People:Wife Bridget
Deceased wife Susan
Daughter Elizabeth Rolfe, unmarried.
Son Clement Rolfe
Nephew Henry Rolfe
Servant and kinsman Margaret Tubbing
Servant Jeffrye Trowse
Jeffrye Brampton deceased, for whom Thomas acted as Executor
Thomas Atfenne – lease holder of Runham Rectory         
Places:   Tuttington, Tivetshall, Runham
Probate:   No date

The Will

In the name of God amen The Sixe and Twentye daye of Aprill in the yere of our Lorde God one Thowsand Fyve hundred nynety and nyne. And in the One and Fortye yeare of the Raigne of our Sovereigne Ladye Queene Elizabethe etc I Thomas Rolfe of Tuttyngton in the Countye of Norff Gent being of good and perfight memorye (praysed be God) and calling to remembraunce the uncertaintye of my Contynuance in this transitorye worlde Doe therefore ordayne and make this my Last will and Testament in suche manner and forme as hereafter followithe Firste I Commend my Sowle into thandes of allmightie God my maker and Redemer by whose mercye I hope to have forgyvenes of my Synnes and to be made partaker of his heavenly Kingedome. And my Bodye to be buried in the Churche of Tutington aforesaide neare unto the Bodye of my late wyfe Susan Rolfe To the Reparations of whiche Churche I gyve x s

Item I give unto Bridget Rolf my wyfe in Consideracon and Recompens of her Dower, One Annuytie or yearly rent charge of Fowrty poundes of lawfull Englishe money yssueing and goeing out of all my Landes and Tenementes in Tivetshale St Margrett in the Countie afore saide To have and to hold to her for and duering the Terme of her naturall lyfe And to be paide unto her at the Feastes of St Mychaell tharchangell, the Birthe daye of our Lorde God, The Annunciation of the blissed virgyn Marye, And the Natyvity of St John Baptist by equall porcons. The first payment to begynne at the same Feaste whiche shall firste happen next after one quarter of a yeare after my decease.

And yf it shall happen the saide Annuytie or yearly Rent chardge or anye partt thereof to be behynde and unpayde by the space of Twentye dayes next after anye of the saide Feastes in anye yeare duering the Terme aforesaide Then I will and my mynde ys That yt shall and maye be Lawfull to and for the saide Briggett and her assignes to enter into all my Landes and Tenementes in Tyvetshall aforesaide and to take the profittes thereof. (The woodes onely excepted) untill suche tyme as the saide Annuytie with Tharrerages be unto hir fullye paide and satisffyed.

Item I gyve unto the saide Brigget the bedstead wherein I use to lye with the fether bedd and furnyture thereunto belonginge. The Bedstead in the lesser Chamber over the Buttry with the feather bedd and furnyture to the same. A Trundle Bedsteade with a fetherbedd and the furnyture thereunto and Tenne payer of Sheetes of bothe sortes with three pillowes and three pillowbeeres. And alsoe Fower board Clothes Three dyeaper Napkyns and twoo Cubbard Cloathes.

Item I give unto hir my Trencher Salt of silver and guilt. The white silver Boll comonlye used. A litle silver pott. A litle stone pott footted tipt and covered with silver. One other litle stone pott wherin she useth to dryncke typped with sylver. And A dozen silver spones with mayden heades with suche money as she now hathe in hir owne Custodye. And alsoe suche other howsehould stuffe as shee shall thincke meete to furnishe her Chamber with to the valew of fortye shillinges or there aboutes.

Item I gyve unto my daughter Elizabeth Rollfe to be paid at hir daye of Marryage one hundred poundes And at suche tyme Twelve monethe next following (yf she be then lyvinge) one other hundred poundes

Item I give to hir my lesser silver boll, halfe a dozen silver spones with Croslettes And one of the ordinary potes typped with Sylver Allsoe I give unto hir a Fetherbedd with a Boulster, A Coveringe, a payer of Blankettes, Twoo Pillowes Twoo Pillow beeres, and Twoo payer of sheetes, A Brasse pott, a kettle, Sixe peeces of Pewter, and A dozen Napkyns.

Item I gyve to my Nephewe Henrye Rolfe fortie shillinges And to Margaret Tubbinge my Servauntt and Kynsewoman Twentie shillinges

Item I gyve to Jeffrye Trowse my servauntt fortye shillinges and one heckforth of twoo yeres ould And to every of my other servaunttes tenne shillinges

Item I gyve to every of my god children fortie pence

Item I gyve and grauntt unto Clement Rolf my Sonne all my righte tytle, enterest and Terme of yeares which I have yet to come or of ryght ought to have of in or to the mesuage wherein I now dwell, with all the Landes and tenementes there unto belonginge which I had of the grauntt of Jeffry Brampton gent deceassed To have and to houlde to him for and duering soe many yeares as are yet to come in the same. not withstanding my meaninge ys That the saide Briggett my wyfe shall have the use and occupacon of the three Chambers over the Buttry and Larder for and duering the Terme of Twelve years next ynsueing yf she soe longe shall lyve with sufficient fyer boote to be there by her expendid yf she shall remayne there hir selfe and not otherwyse.

Item I will and my mynde is that my Executor shall discharge all suche Legasyes as were given by the last will and Testament of the saide Jeffrye Brampton whiche are yet unpaid by reason of the Legatories mynorities.

Item I leave unto my saide sonne Clement Rolf all my messuages Landes and Tenementes whatsoever in Tyvetshall aforesaide To have and to hould to him and to his heyres for ever.

Item I will and requyer my saide Sonne Clement Rollfe to permitt and suffer Thomas Atfenne to enioye the Lease of the Rectorye[?] of Runham for and duering suche yeres and under suche Covenanttes as I made the same unto him.

Item I give unto the poore people to be distributed by the discretion of myne Executor fyve poundes

The residue of all my goodes and Chattelles whatsoever not before given or bequeathid I give them whollye unto my saide Sonne Clement Rolf whome I ordaine and make sole Executor of this my last will and Testament requyring him to performe the same accordinge to the truste and confidence which I repose in him

Published by me Thomas Rolfe as my last will and Testament in the presence of Christofer Knolles William Neve Robert Bernye and William Neve Junior

Item I gyve unto the saide Briget Rolf the litle graye Nagg and a Cowe to be pastured amongest the Cowes of the saide Clement Rolf so longe as she shall remayne in hir Chamber aforesaide.

Item I give hir six peeces of pewter, a posnet, a kettle the red Cubberd in the parlor Chamber The greate Chest in the lesser maydes Chamber And all the Chestes and Coffers in my Chamber except the litle short Chest with the double locke to be left with the said Clement at the departure of the saide Briggett. In recompence of the goodes and howshould stuffe to the valew of fortie shillinges or thereaboutes before mencyoned in this my will and Testament for the furnishing of hir Chamber

Item I revoke the xx s before given to Margaret Tubbinge per me Thomam Rolf  T me Willmo Neve sen. et Willmo Neve Junior

Probate

Probatum fuit …. Testament apud Norwicum coram veneli viro Mro Robto Redmayne Legum Dcore Offili ….. Et Cimissa fuit …,, etc Executori in dco Testato nominato in debita iuris forma Jurat etc Salvo etc

Reference details

Transcribed from the Norwich Consistory Court record
Held by the Norfolk Records Office Reference NCC will register Pecke 200 Item 1599

Image at https://www.familysearch.org/ark:/61903/3:1:3Q9M-CSND-39C8-P?i=282&cat=278818
LDS Film # 008076499, image 283

Transcribed by Rose G.
April 2024

Leave a comment