Agnes Gresham 1520 of Little Walsingham, Norfolk, widow

Agnes Gresham (nee Porter) is the widow of William Gresham. The plaque for her husband in Little Walsingham church says she is buried at Holkham. Her son James died a few years later (Will 1526).

Summary

Will Date: 23 August 1520
Executors:  Daughters Ursula and Susanne
Overseer: Son James Gresham
Witnesses:John Robyns priest and curate James Gresham, William Bonham
People: Late husband William Gresham deceased
Father and mother Jeffrey and Beatrix deceased
Son James Gresham
Daughters Ursula, Susanne
Daughter Margaret Dunne
Daughter-in-law Agnes Gresham
Agnes Bonham
Agnes Elys
John Carter, Margaret his wife and Nicholas their son all deceased
Sir Thomas Grimston deceased
Margaret Newgate deceased
Probate:   26 October 1520

The Will

In dei nomine Amen The xxiij day of August in the yer of oure lord god M CCCCC xx I Agnes Gresham of Walsingham litle widowe beyng in hoole mynd and of goode perfight remembrance make my testament and last will in this maner folowing Furst I bequeth my soule to god almyghty my maker and redemer to oure lady saint Mary and to alle the holy company of heven my body to be buried in the church of all saintes in Walsingham aforesaid by the Sepulture of my husbond William Gresham to the which high auter I bequeth for my tythis and offeringes forgoton and not well payde iij s iiij d Item to the gilde of the blissed Trinite ther xx d

Also I bequeth to James Gresham my son my cubberd payinge to Ursula and Susan my doughters x s
Item I bequeth to the said James my Swyne vj pigges my fowlis the Countre[?] and the lede paying to theim iij s iiij d

Item I bequeth to Agnes Gresham my doughter in lawe my best kerche oone grete charger vj plates vj Disshes and vj Sawcers

Item I bequethe to Margaret Dunne my Doughter oone dublet ij Silver Spones and viij shepe

Item I bequeth to Agnes Bonham oone hedkerch
Item to Agnes Elys oone hedkerche

Itm I wol have iij masses of Scala celi to be doone for the soules of John Carter and Margaret his wif and Nicolas ther sonne
Item [blank ] of Scala celi for the soule of sir Thomas Grymston
Item oone mas of Scala celi for the soule of Margaret Newgate

Item I wol the harnes of my blew girdle my pece of Silver my silver gobled and certen Rynges be sold and the mony therof comynge to bringe my body to the Erthe and to find a priest for the sowles of my fader and mother Jaffrey and Beatrix William my husbond and my soule by the space of oone half yer yf the mony may so far extend   

The residue of my goodes above not bequethed I geve and bequethe to Ursula and Zusane my doughters to be equally devided between them whom I make and constitute my faythfull executces that they may so pay my dettes fulfill this my last wille and do for me suche good dedes and warkes as may be plesure to god and profight to my soule provided that if eyther of my said doughters Ursula and Zusanne to departe this worlde or she come to Lawfull age than the other to enioye her parte and if they boothe depart or they come to Lawfull age that than I wol my son James shalhave both ther partes brynging ther bodys honestly to burialle and findinge a preste oone hoole yer to sing for ther soules and my soule and my frendes soules And also the said James to kepe ane anniversary yerly for my soule and my frendes soules by the sapce of v yeres and more 

Also I constitute and orden the said James Supervisor of this my said testament These bering wytnes John Robyns prest and curat James Gresham Willm Bonham with mo the Day and yer afore written

Probate

Probatum fuit pns testamentum apud Walsingham coram nobis Rico Taylor ……..  ……… Norwicum Epi visitatione sua ordinaria in Detanata de Walsingham …….  sufficienter at ltime deputato xxvj die mensis Octobres Anno Dni Millimo Quingentesimo vicesimo etc Comissa …………  ……………..

Reference details

Transcribed from the Norwich Consistory Court probate record.
Held by the Norfolk Records Office Reference NCC will register Robinson 29 Item 1520

Images at https://www.familysearch.org/ark:/61903/3:1:3Q9M-CSND-396H-X?i=296&cat=278818
LDS Film # 008076281 Image 297

Transcribed by Rose G
October 2023

Leave a comment