James Gresham 1526 of Little Walsingham, Norfolk

James Gresham is the son of William Gresham of Little Walsingham and Agnes Porter (Will 1520). His children are all under age and he appoints his wife and her brother executors.

Summary

Will Date:  6 November 1523
Executors:Wife Agnes and brother Nicholas Mynne
Overseers:  Cousin Thomas Gresham
Witnesses: John Gillis, John Colette
People: Wife Agnes
Sons Paul (eldest), Giles
Daughter Anne
Sisters Margere and Susanne
Uncle John Gresham of Holt
Geoffrey Porter deceased           
Probate:  30 October 1526

The Will

In the Name of Amen I Jamys Gresham of lytyll walsyngham the vj th day of Novembre in the yere of our Lorde god M vC xxiij beyng of holl mynde and good remembraunce I make this my testament in this maner Fyrst I bequethe my Soull to almyghty god to our blessyde lady saynct Mary and to all the Company in hevene and my body to be buryede within the Churche of lytyll walshyngham befor the Trynyte Awter or at the Chancel dore

Itm I gyf to the highe Awter vj s viij d in recompens of my tythes
Itm I gyf to the grey freeres of walsyngham vj s viij d

Itm I wul that my wiff whome I ordeyne and make myn executrix shall make a fynyall yede and goo thorow for sutch rentes as the prior and Covente claimythe yf yt can be fownde that they have right to aswell for the fre rente as for Copy holde in the Clos nexte over to bullokes clos on the sowthe parte and the clos of Willm Smythe on the northe parte

Itm I gyf to the freeres of burnham iij s iiij d

Itm to my syster Margere xx s to my syster Susane xx s and to yche on of my servantes beyng in my servis at my dethe xij d

Itm I gyf to Augnes my wyff and wull that she shall have in peasable pocessyon for terme of hir lyff the new howse stondyng and sette on the sowth syde of the gattes with the gardeyne and yarde agaynst blotow grene with iiij closses that ys to say iij on the est syde of the water and on agenst collyhannys gatte sett with saffrone for terme of hir lyfe and after hir decease to remayne with all the rest of my landes for want of Issew of my body to remayne to my systeres and theyer eyheres and for whant of issu of them to remayne to the Ryght heyeres of geffrey porter acordyng to the will of the sayde geffrey porter and for whant of issew of the sayde Janne gressham and my systeres and of the yssew of the porteres to remayne to the right hereres of my uncle John gresham of Holte

Itm I wull that Augnes my wyf shall have the occupacon of all my landes and tenymentes tyll and over to the tyme that my oldeste sonn or any of his brotherne or systeres that shall cum to the age of xxj yeres and than the sayde pawll to gyf his brother gyllys within ij yeres after that he enter the sayde landes as well fre as Copy xx markes yf he be a preste yf he be a laymane xx li

Itm I wull that Augnes my wiff and executrix shall gyf Anne my dowghtter at the day of hir mariage xx li of good and lawfull money of ynglonde

all my meveables utenselles my crope on the grownde I gyf to Annes my wif payng my dewes and performyng this my last will bringyng my body to the erthe and kepyng an obyte wonys in the yere for my frendes soulles and myn to the value of xiij s iiij d yerly to be kepte in the sayde paryshe Churche in lytyll walsyngham

Itm I wull my wyf shall bryng up my Childerne tyll they cum to lawfull age (or se them honestly browght up) yf not I wull my supervysor have the kepyng of them

Itm I wull have iij masses of scala Cely song for me within a monythe after my buryall day and v masses of the v wondes of our lorde and xxx masses
Itm to yche of the gyldes of our lady and the trynyte iij s iiij d

Item I wull that myn executoures do fynde a honest preste to syng for my soull and my frendes soulles in the sayde parishe Churche by the space of on yere

Itm I wull that my wyff shall have to hir and hir heieres all my purchassyd landes as well fre as Copy that hathe bene purchasyde sythc the tyme of our marryage And all suche other Copy holde as she and I be seasyde or infeoffyde in

Also I wull that yf yt fortune my Childerne to dye before on of them cum to the age of xxj yere than I wull my sayde wiff shall have to hir and hir assygnes for terme of hir lyfe all my landes and tenymentes in County of Norff withowte lette or interupcyon of any of myn heieres

And of this my last wyll I make and ordeyne the sayd Annes my wiff my brother Nycholas Mynne  myn executoures and my Cosyng master Thomas Gresham supervysor

Wittnes John Gillis John Colette with other moo

Probate

Probatum fuit presens testamentum apud Norwicum etc penultimo die mensis Octobris 1526 Comissa fuit administraco bonorum etc executoribus infra noiate in debita iure forma iurate

Reference details

Transcribed from the Norwich Consistory Court probate record.
Held by the Norfolk Records Office Reference NCC will register Alpe 35 Item 1526

Images at https://www.familysearch.org/ark:/61903/3:1:3Q9M-CSND-MQ2Z?i=448&cat=278818
LDS Film # 008076286 Image 449

Transcribed by Rose G
October 2023

Leave a comment