Thomas Guybon 1531 of West Lynn, Norfolk

Thomas Guybon is the son of Gregory Guybon of West Lynn. He writes a brief will making a few religious bequests and appointing his wife Rose executrix.

Summary

Will Date: 16 January 1530
Executors:  Wife Rose and Francis Moundeford
Witnesses:  None
People:Wife Rose
Late father Gregory Guybon of West Lynn, deceased
The Prioress of Blackborough Priory
Places:   West Lynn, North Lynn, North Clenchwarton, Blackborourgh Priory
Probate: 14 November 1531

 The Will

In the name of god amen The xxvj day of January in the yere of our lodde god mlv xxx I Thomas Guybon of Westhlynn in the Countie of Norff esquire Sonne and heire of Gregorye Guybon late of Westhlynn aforesaid being of hole mynde and of good memorye make my testament and last Will in maner and fourme followinge

Furst I bequeth my soule to allmyghty god and my my bodye to be buryed in the churche of Westhlyns aforesaid in the southe syde of my fathers grave and I gyve to the reparation of the same churche of Westlyns with the lede that I owe to the said churche tenne poundes

Item I gyve and bequeth to the hygh aulter there for tythes and offeringes necligently forgotten xx s
Item I gyve and bequeth to the high aulter of Northlynis for like cause xx s
Item to the high aulter of Northclenchwarden for like cause xx s

Item I gyve and bequeth to the Prioresse of Blackburgh to the reparacion of hur Churche and Abbay there vj li xiij s iiij d to be paid by myne executours in iiij yeres Immediatly after my deceas by evyn porcions

And the residue of my goddes I bequethe to the disposicion of myne executrice to be disposed as I have declared and shewid by mouth to Rose my wyfe

And I make and ordeyne to be my Executrice Roos my Wife and she to have for hur labour and trewe diligence in execution of this my testament and for and by the bequeste of me ijC poundes of my goodes and catalles And Frauncis Moundeforde and he to have for his labour xl li

I wyttnes whereof I have wrytten this my present testament with myn owne honde and have put therto my Seale

ultima voluntas eiusdem Thome

This is the laste will of me the forsaid Thomas Guybon I will desire require and charge as farr as in me is that all my feoffes and every one of them that they and every one of them suffre maynteyne and cause that Roose my Wyfe shall take all the Issues profyttes comodities and pleasures of all my landes and tenementis rentes reversions and other hereditamentis to her owne use for terme of hir lyfe

Allso I will that she shall sell of the premisses as many as she shall will to sell and that my feoffes shall delyver astate and Afeassment to hur and to other personnes by hur to be named to thentente and purpose that she may sell the said londes at hur pleasure to thentent that she may discharge hur selfe and me in suche causes and matters as I have declared and shewid hur my selfe by mouthe

In witnes wherof I have wrytten this my last will with myne owne hande and sett my seale

Probate

Probatum fuit suprascriptum testm Coram dno apud Lamhith xiiij die Mensis Novembris Anno dni millimo quingeno xxxj Juramento Rose relicte et executricis in huioi testamento noiat Ac approbatum et in …… Et comissa fuit administracio omn et singulorum bonorum  iur et creditorum  dicti defunct prefate executrici de bene et fiftr admistrand Ac de pleno et fideli …… conficiend etc ……….. vero compoto reddend Ad sancta dei evangelia in debita iur forma Jurat Refuata ptata similem comissionem faciend Franciso Moundeforde

Reference details

Transcribed from the Prerogative Court of Canterbury records. 
The National Archive ref PROB 11/24/134

Transcribed by Rose G
June 2023

Leave a comment